British Queen celebrates

image image image image
China threatens US with tariffs, says 'not afraid of trade war' Read the Full Story
Worlds apart: Hong Kong's great art divide Read the Full Story
London firefighter tells court of finding French nanny's remains on bonfire Read the Full Story
Vettel seeks 'ultimate satisfaction' of F1 title with Ferrari Read the Full Story
* * * *

UK News

World News


Airspace throughout northern and central Europe was gradually reopening Tuesday but officials say London airports are likely to remain closed. A new wave of ash forced Norway to close airports on the southwestern coast. Britain: Britain's National Air Traffic Service said London airports are likely to remain closed Tuesday. Flights have resumed in Scotland but only for some domestic flights.

Germany: Airspace officially closed for regular flights until Tuesday at 1200 GMT (8 a.m. EDT). Airlines permitted to operate a limited number of passenger flights under so-called visual flight rules, meaning that they can only fly at low levels within German airspace.

France: Limited flights from the Paris airports to several international destinations resumed Tuesday, most French airports now open to limited traffic.

Netherlands: Amsterdam's Schiphol Airport listed both canceled and departed flights Tuesday morning after the Dutch government approved flights under certain conditions. KLM listed about 40 flights that were due to arrive or depart. Company says it is "resuming normal operations in a phased manner."

Sweden: Airspace over northern and central Sweden is open. Stockholm's Arlanda airport is open to flights to and from the U.S. and some European destinations. Airports in Goteborg and Malmo are closed. Overflights at high altitude are permitted across the country.

Norway: New wave of ash forced aviation officials to close airports on Norway's southwestern coast, from Stavanger to Kristiansand. Authorities had lifted air travel restrictions in most parts of Norway. Oslo's Gardermoen international airport reopened late Sunday night, and Ryanair's Oslo terminals, Torp and Rygge, opened Monday morning.

Austria: Austrian airspace remains open after permission to resume takeoffs and landings took effect at 0300 GMT Monday (11 p.m. EDT Sunday). Some flights continue to be canceled but the situation is improving.

Ireland: Airports remain closed. Aer Lingus said it had canceled all flights Tuesday, reversing plans announced Monday to resume some operations.

Italy: Officials say a handful of flights have resumed to and from Milan airports as domestic air traffic resumes. Italy started reopening its airports at 0600 GMT (2 a.m. EDT).

Denmark: Danish airspace above 16,600 feet is open, so long-haul flights can cross Denmark at high altitude. There is no landing in Denmark. Airspace under 16,600 feet remains closed until 0000 GMT Wednesday (8 p.m. EDT Tuesday).

Spain: Reopened all its airports Sunday.

Latvia: Latvian airspace opened at 0600GMT (2 a.m. EDT) Tuesday morning, and two flights have already landed at Riga International Airport.

Lithuania: Airspace is open, and first departures have taken place from Vilnius International Airport. All flights at Kaunas Airport are canceled, as are a majority of those at Vilnius.

Estonia: Tallinn Airport was open until 0700GMT (3 a.m. EDT) and is now closed again and will remain so until 1200GMT (8 a.m. EDT).